Current Student Directory 2022

  1. Elizabeth Allison
    B.S Marine Biology, Old Dominion University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: ocean health and conservation
    Contact Information: allisones@g.cofc.edu
  2. Megan Arnett
    B.S. Geology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: urban planning, public health, green infrastructure
    Contact Information: mrarnett@g.cofc.edu

  3. Rachel Bares
    B.S. Biology, Capital Univeristy
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: intersection of policy and science, economic evaluation of resources, community resilience and environmental justice
    Contact Information:baresr@g.cofc.edu

  4. Autum Blanchard
    B.S. Environmental and Natural Resources- Conservation Biology, Clemson University
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Wildlife management, affects of anthropogenic expansion on environments and their organisms, environmental policy
    Contact Information: blanchardas@g.cofc.edu
  5. Caitlin Bolger
    B.S. Biology, Florida Southern College
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: environmental justice, community engagement, resiliency
    Advisor: Dr. Jen Wright
    Thesis Title: "Engaging Grass-Tops and Grass-Roots Stakeholders to Validate Environmental Justice Indicators: An Evaluation of the Charleston Climate Coalition's Environmental Justice Profile"
    Contact Information: bolgerc@g.cofc.edu

  6. Sam Burke
    B.S. Marine Science, Environmental Management, Columbia Southern University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: ocean ecology, pollutions, coral reefs, physical oceanography
    Contact Information: burkes@g.cofc.edu

  7. Sean Cannon
    B.S. Business Administration, University of South Carolina
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Community outreach, sustainable communities, and food systems
    Contact Information: spcannon@g.cofc.edu

  8. Julia Chrisco
    B.S. Viticulture and Emology, UC Davis
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: HABs, GIS, Remote Sensing
    Advisor: Barbara Beckingham
    Contact Information: Chriscoj@g.cofc.edu

  9. Aidan Christopher 
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: Christophera1@g.cofc.edu

  10. Evan Cizler
    B.S. Anthropology & B.A. Archaeology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: ewcizler@gmail.com

  11. Robin Coker
    B.S. Environmental Conservation, B.S. Mathematics, Cedar Crest College
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Climate Modeling, Ocean Acidification & Warming, Oceanographic Modeling
    Advisor: Norm Levine
    Contact Information: cokerr1@g.cofc.edu

  12. Grant Collins
    B.S. Political Science,  College of Charleston
    Program EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: coastline management, ecology
    Advisor: Dr. Matt Nowlin
    Contact Information: collinsgc1@g.cofc.edu

  13. Hailey Connell
    B.S. Geology and Environmental Geosciences, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: water quality, geology, socio-ecological policy
    Contact Information: connellhs@g.cofc.edu
  14. Ally Copenhaver
    B.S. Biology, Wheaton College Massachusetts
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Plastic waste, plastic policies, environmental policies
    Advisor: Matt Nowlin
    Contact Information: copenhavera@g.cofc.edu

  15. Jena Copley
    B.A. Biology, College of Wooster
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: sustainable land management, urban planning, biodiversity management, community outreach
    Advisor: Dr. Doug Rivet
    Contact Information: copleyj@g.cofc.edu

  16. Cheyenne Cunningham
    B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies: Ocean Policy and Legal Studies, Coastal Carolina University
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Ocean and coastal policy, marine resource management
    Advisor: Matt Nowlin
    Contact Information: cunninghamc2@g.cofc.edu

  17. Reagen Desilets
    B.S. Geology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Seismology, infrastructure
    Contact Information: desiletsr@g.cofc.edu

  18. Badriyeh Diab
    B.S. Environmental Health, American University of Beirut
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: 
    environmental policy and management, challenges with policies and how to get people engaged
    Contact Information: diabbm@g.cofc.edu

  19. Tatiana DiSalvo
    B.S. Environmental Resources Management, Penn State
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Marine policy/conservation, environmental hazards, environmental justice
    Contact Information: disalvote@g.cofc.edu
  20. Andrew Dunn
    B.S. Physics and Astronomy, Certificate in Engineering, University of Georgia 
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Carbon Sinks, Blue Carbon Systems, Nature-based Solutions, Ecosystem Restoration, Regenerative Land Stewardship, Regenerative Energy, Climate Resiliency
    Contact Information: Dunna1@g.cofc.edu

  21. Nate Elson
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: elstonnc@g.cofc.edu

  22. Zachary Fogleman
    Finance, Environmental Studies, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: wildlife management, commercial harvesting and policy

    Contact Information: foglemanza@g.cofc.edu
  23. Keilin Gamboa-Salazar
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: gamboasalazarkr@g.cofc.edu

  24. Trey Gillespie
    B.A. Geology and Environmental Geosciences, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: GIS, sea floor mapping, environmental education
    Contact Information: gillespiesta@g.cofc.edu
  25. Reeves Goette
    B.A. Environmental Studies & B.S. Biology, Wofford College
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Environmental Education and Science Communication
    Contact Information: goettera@g.cofc.edu

  26. Jason Graham
    B.S. Biology, Simpson College
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Plant ecology and conservation, natural resource management, environmental education and outreach and policy
    Contact Information: grahamj2@g.cofc.edu

  27. Lauren Greenwood
    B.S. Environmental and Water Science, University of Arkansas
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: wildlife management, commercial harvesting and policy
    Contact Information: greenwoodl@g.cofc.edu
  28. Sarah Haslinger
    B.S. Marine Biology and Environmental Science, Florida Southern College
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: sustainability, conservation, organizational and business sustainability, environmental outreach
    Contact Information: haslingers@g.cofc.edu

  29. Jackson Barratt Heitmann
    B.S. International Studies, Bard College
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Avian Ecology, Community Ecology, Quantitative Ecology
    Advisor: Daniel J. McGlinn
    Thesis Title: "Are ephemeral wetlands hotspots for avian biodiversity in Pine-Savannah ecosystems?"
    Contact information: barrattheitmannj@g.cofc.edu

  30. Jackson Hipp
    Brown University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: impacts of recreational fishing
    Contact Information: hippjm@g.cofc.edu
  31. Bailey Horn
    B.S. Marine Biology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Hydrographic Survey, Optical Bathymetry, Coastal Dynamics, Seafloor and Habitat Mapping
    Advisor: Dr. Leslie Sautter
    Contact Information: hornba@g.cofc.edu

  32. Kristin Horn
    B.S. Marine Biology, University of Rhode Island
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: evolution, anglerfish, phylogeny, genomics
    Advisor: Andrew Shedlock
    Thesis Title: "Fish Do Grow on Trees: Analysis of deep-sea anglerfish immunogenomics using phylogenetic trees"
    Contact Information: hornk@g.cofc.edu

  33. Hannah Houston
    B.S. Biology, Appalachian State University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Nutrient flow through mycorrhizae in the event of fine root senescence
    Advisor: Dr. Seth Pritchard
    Contact Information: houstonh@g.cofc.edu

  34. Hannah Infanti
    B.S. Fish Conservation, Virginia Tech 
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Environmental education and outreach, coastal and marine management
    Advisor: Julie Binz

    Thesis Title: "Navigating Coastal Conservation Careers: How to increase young students' interests in pursuing a coastal conservation career"
    Contact Information: infantim@g.cofc.edu

  35. Nolan Irey
    B.S. Environmental Studies, Centre College
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Water resource management
    Contact Information: Ireyn@g.cofc.edu

  36. Oliver Jones
    B.S. Biology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: sustainability in higher education, social-ecological systems, environmental ethics, intersectionality
    Contact Information: jonesbe@g.cofc.edu

  37. Sarah Jones
    B.S. Animal and Veterinary Sciences, Clemson University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Restoration of Maritime Forests in the Lowcountry
    Contact Information: joness10@g.cofc.edu

  38. Kit Kelly
    B.A. Anthropology and Archaeology, Colorado State University 
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Archaeology, landscape conservation, community conservation, GIS, Indigenous knowledge and governance
    Advisor: Dr. Brennan Keegan
    Contact Information: kellyk4@g.cofc.edu
  39. Haley Kenyon
    B.S. Marine Biology, University of Rhode Island
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Environmental policy, planning, coastal issues and marine management
    Contact Information: kenyonhe@g.cofc.edu

  40. Nicole Killen
    B.S. Environmental Biology, Christopher Newport University
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: environmental education and higher academic sustainability and community engagement and development
    Contact Information: killenn@g.cofc.edu

  41. Madison Kluge
    B.S. Environmental and Sustainability, Catawba College
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Forest ecology, entomology
    Contact Information: mkluge@g.cofc.edu
  42. Bridget Knutson
    B.S. Marine Biology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: conservation, plastics, community
    Contact Information: knutsonbr@g.cofc.edu
  43. Alyssa Lundy
    B.S. Marine Science and Political Science, University of Alabama
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Policy, planning, administration, coastal and marine management, community engagement, community science, local conservation efforts, sustainable development
    Advisor: Matt Nowlin
    Contact information: lundyar@g.cofc.edu

  44. Hastings Marek
    B.A. Sustainability & B.S. Applied Mathematics, Baldwin Wallace University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: GIS, R, and Systems Thinking
    Contact Information: marekh@g.cofc.edu

  45. Ashton McClellan
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: mclellancc@g.cofc.edu

  46. Emily McKenzie
    B.S. Human Services, University of South Carolina at Beaufort
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Environmental justice, land use, sustainable agriculture, earth systems
    Contact Information: mckenziee1@g.cofc.edu

  47. AJ Meola
    B.S. Political Science, The College of New Jersey
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: scientific research, natural science, space and planets
    Contact Information: meolaa@g.cofc.edu
  48. Mikayla Milford
    B.S. Environmental Conservation Biology, Kent State University
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: milfordm@g.cofc.edu

  49. Hana Mintz
    B.S. Geology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: mintzhl@g.cofc.edu

  50. Caroline Moore
    B.S. Environmental Science, Appalachian State University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: stormwater microplastics
    Advisor: Barbara Beckingham
    Contact Information: moorec8@g.cofc.edu

  51. Ellery Newcomer
    B.S. Conservation Biology, Clemson University
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: educating locals and people, cost/benefit analysis, sea turtles, economics
    Contact Information: newcomerem@g.cofc.edu
  52. Meadow Noonan
    B.S. Environmental Science, Lynn University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Ecology restoration and coastline management 
    Contact Information: noonanm@g.cofc.edu

  53. Claire O'Loughlin
    B.S. Marine Biology, University of South Carolina
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: coastal and marine management, human impact, natural resourcs, pollution
    Contact Information: oloughlincm@g.cofc.edu

  54. Justin Osborne
    B.S. Anthropology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: osbornerj@g.cofc.edu

  55. Briar Ownby-Connolly
    B.S. Marine Science, Coastal Carolina University
    Program EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: shark policy and conservation, climate change impacts on the marine environment, political growth and communication
    Contact Information- ownbyconnollyb@g.cofc.edu
  56. Molly Paige
    B.S. Environmental Science, Southern New Hampshire University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Fisheries, Ecology, Natural Resource Management
    Advisor: Annette Watson
    Contact Information: paigem@g.cofc.edu

  57. Kayli Paterson
    B.S. Chemical Engineering, Oregon State University
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Advisor: Barbara Beckingham
    Thesis Title: "Evaluating the effectiveness of storm sewer inlets to capture microplastics and
    tire wear particles of varying densities in roadway runoff to prevent dispersal
    in the environment."
    Research Interests: hazardous waste treatment, conservation biology, pollution, environmental biology
    Contact Information: patersonk@g.cofc.edu

  58. Morgan Peshoff
    B.S. Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management - Parks and Conversation, Clemson University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Environmental management: impacts on our natural resources due to recreation use
    Contact Information: pershoffmt@g.cofc.edu

  59. Aly Petruch
    B.S. Environmental Science, Ramapo College
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Agriculture and Food Systems
    Advisor: Kendra Stewart
    Contact Information: petrucha@g.cofc.edu
  60. Samantha Pettit
    B.S. Biology, USC Beaufort
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Improving environmental literacy, water quality
    Contact Information: pettits@g.cofc.edu

  61. Britney Prebis
    B.S. Environmental Studies, Florida Gulf Coast University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: water quality, water sampling, microplastics
    Contact Information prebisb@g.cofc.edu
  62. Allie Pujol
    B.S. Environmental Science, Luther College
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: pujola@g.cofc.edu

  63. Hannah Quast
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Contact Information: Quasth@g.cofc.edu

  64. Rebekah Ravago
    B.S. Biology, Columbia College SC
    Program: EVSS
    Reserach Interests: Coastal and marine management, Marine biology, ecology, environmental sciences
    Advisor: Walter Bubley, Ph. D. SCDNR, Marine Resources Division
    Thesis Title: "Utilizing FT-NIR to Determine the Age of Black Sea Bass and White Grunt with Otoliths and Scales"
    Contact Information: ravagorc@g.cofc.edu

  65. Greg Rothman
    B.S. Marine Biology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: rothmang@dnr.sc.gov

  66. Kathryn Rowe
    B.S. Marine Biology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Fisheries Management Policy
    Contact Information: ksrowe@g.cofc.edu

  67. Kaylee Smith
    B.S. Environmental Studies, Brevard College
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: environmental education, advocacy, GIS, planning, coastal geology, social science
    Contact Information: smithk10@g.cofc.edu

  68.  Ashley Snyder
    B.S. Environmental Science, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: conservation, fisheries, GIS, water quality
    Contact Information: snydera1@g.cofc.edu
  69. Kayla Squiggins
    B.S. Chemistry, Erksine College
    Program: EVSS
    Reserach Interests: Water quality, stormwater management, wastewater treatment, environmental chemistry
    Advisor: Vijay Vulva
    Contact Information: squigginsk@g.cofc.edu

  70. Brendan Standish
    B.S. Environmental Biology, Wingate University
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: Invasive Species Biology/Policy, Biomimetics
    Contact Information: standishb@g.cofc.edu

  71. Chloe Vandermolen
    B.S. Biology, Montana State University Bozeman
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: political ecology, economics, policy, communication and science outreach
    Contact Information: vandermolenco@g.cofc.edu

  72. Richard Waring
    B.S. Pyschology, The Citadel
    Program: EVSS/MPA
    Research Interests: nonprofit/humanitarian affairs/security, clean water, foreign affairs
    Contact Information: waringr@g.cofc.edu

  73. Kent Wicker
    B.S. Marine Biology, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests:climate change, ocean policy
    Contact Information: wickerk@g.cofc.edu
  74. Ansley Williamson
    B.S. Natural Resources and Environmental Management, University of Hawaii at Manoa
    Program: EVSS
    Contact Information: williamsona1@g.cofc.edu

  75. Duncan Williamson
    B.S. Environmental and Natural Resources Management, Clemson University
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Erosion Control, Water Quality, Hydrogeology, Stormwater Systems, and Stream Engineering
    Advisor: Norm Levine
    Contact Information: williamsondr@g.cofc.edu

  76. Michael Wiser
    B.A. Marketing and Studio Art, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Geospatial analysis, beekeeping, conservation using drones and lidar. How can drones be used to increase communication with the public on environmental issues.
    Contact Information: wisermc@g.cofc.edu

  77. Maxwell Zollinger
    B.A. Meteorology and Physics, College of Charleston
    Program: EVSS
    Research Interests: Atmospheric Deposition, Hurricane Climatology
    Contact Information: zollingermc@g.cofc.edu